Updates on the Fall 2020 Semester
News and information about SVA’s plans for online instruction, and more.
Important Admissions Deadlines

2020

Monday, September 7

Labor Day Holiday, SVA Closed


Sunday, September 20–Saturday, September 26

Orientation for new students accepted for the fall 2020 semester


Monday, September 28

Undergraduate and Graduate fall 2020 classes begin


Thursday, October 1

Recommended admissions completion deadline for international applicants requiring a student visa for the spring 2021 semester


Financial Aid first date for submitting 2021-2022 FAFSA application


Sunday, November 1

Admissions completion deadline for all spring 2021 applicants for the Silas H. Rhodes Scholarship program; all application materials must be postmarked by this date in order to be considered for scholarship. There is no scholarship application. Only scholarship recipients are notified.


Tuesday, December 1

Application completion deadline for early action for fall 2021; materials must be postmarked by this date in order to be considered for early action.


Wednesday, December 23–Sunday, January 3

Winter Recess; College closed


2021

Wednesday, January 6

Residence hall check-in for new students, spring 2021


Thursday, January 7–Friday, January 8

Orientation for new students, spring 2021


Friday, January 8

Optimal filing date for submitting FAFSA forms for early action for fall 2021


Monday, January 11

Undergraduate and Graduate spring 2021 classes begin


Monday, January 11–Tuesday, January 19

Course adjustment period


Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, College closed


Monday, February 1

Admissions completion deadline for all fall 2021 incoming freshmen applicants for the Silas H. Rhodes Scholarship program; all application materials must be postmarked by this date in order to be considered for scholarship. There is no scholarship application. Only scholarship recipients are notified.


Enrollment fee recommended deadline for applicants accepted on early action basis for fall 2021.


Optimal filing deadline for new students to submit financial aid FAFSA forms to processor for 2021-2022 financial aid.


Monday, February 15

Honors program application deadline (first-time freshmen only)


Monday, March 1

Admissions completion deadline for all fall 2021 incoming transfer applicants for the Silas H. Rhodes Scholarship program; all application materials must be postmarked by this date in order to be considered for scholarship. There is no scholarship application. Only scholarship recipients are notified.


Friday, March 5

Staff holiday, College closed


Saturday, May 1

Due date for summer 2021 tuition


Enrollment fee priority deadline for fall 2021 (all payments received after May 1 will be processed as space remains available in those programs)


Recommended admissions completion deadline for international applicants requiring a student visa for the fall 2021 semester


Monday, May 31

Memorial Day, College closed


Wednesday, June 30

Financial Aid final deadline for submitting 2021-22 FAFSA application


Thursday, July 1

Recommended date that fall 2021 international applicants complete enrollment process


Sunday, August 1

Due date for fall 2021 semester tuition; after this date, applicants must receive financial clearance from Student Accounts to register.