Tactics, Works, Terms, Forms, Statements

May 4 - May 13

Sorry, alt text forthcoming.


Sat, May 5, 6:00pm - 12:00am

"Tactics, Works, Terms, Forms, Statements" presents thesis projects by the graduating students of MFA Fine Arts, exhibited at 371 Broadway in Tribeca. The culmination of two years of work, research and collaboration, this exhibition brings together 28 artists from 13 countries.

Before everything else, art school, a place where knowledge is produced and common threads are constructed, is a commitment to time. Every day, artists share conversations, thoughts, materials, labor, space and even meals. With this in mind, the exhibition is conceptualized as the seven days in a week. Each section of the exhibition is a marker of time, organized according to mythological readings of the days of the week. The included works span a multitude of genres and concerns, and make visible the complex and nuanced circulation of ideas that have collectively informed them during the past 84 weeks of the program.

Participating artists: Sanjina Azad, Mengfan Bai, Élan Cadiz, Franklin Cain-Borgers, Anthony Cady, Rina AC Dweck, Jing Han, Saya Hanawa, Victoria Healy, Jasmine Huang, Hasita Kamlesh, Michel Karsouny, Shohei Kondo, Jasmine Lee, Jihyun Lee, Juna Lee, Pedro Mesa Lievano, Isabel Llaguno, Anh Thuy Nguyen, Sabrina Puppin, Henry Sekimotto, Alicia Smith, Mikerson Uribe, Roberto Vega, Regina Viqueira, Hanna Washburn, Jamele Wright, Sr., and Joshua Yates.

"Tactics, Works, Terms, Forms, Statements" is organized by Kari Conte, Director of Programs and Exhibitions at the International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP), with Alison Kuo, program coordinator in SVA's MFA Fine Arts department. Daily open hours are noon – 8:00pm. 
In addition to the opening reception, on Saturday, May 12, from 5:00 – 8:00pm, there will be a closing program featuring a curator and artist-led exhibition walkthrough with Dweck, Jihyun Lee, Lievano, Nguyen, Puppin, Washburn and Yates, as well as performances by Cain-Borgers, Healy, Karsouny, Kondo, Sekimotto and Viqueira.

Free and open to the public